LTC - Texas Legislative Update May, 2021- CHANGES ARE COMING !
PLEASE NOTE : You will still be able to get a Texas license after this new law is in place. The Texas LTC License is valid in many states. Just take the class and pass the shooting test and register with the state. You are still required to know the laws regarding carrying a handgun after this legislative change.
What the bill changes
Currently, Texans have to obtain a license to carry a handgun, either openly or concealed. The license requires up to six hours of training, a written exam and a shooting proficiency exam. Prospective licensees also currently have to submit their fingerprints and pass a background check to obtain the permit.
Under the new law, (Expected to become effective in September 2021) Texans would no longer need that licensing to carry a handgun. A background check is still required for the purchase of a firearm.
“This is a simple restoration of Texans’ constitutional right under the Second Amendment, a right of the people to keep and bear arms,” said state Sen. Charles Schwertner, R-Georgetown, who sponsored the legislation.
Handguns were the only type of firearm that required a state license to carry in most public places in Texas. Long guns like shotguns and rifles, including semi-automatic rifles, were and still are allowed to be openly carried in most public places in Texas without a license.
Obtaining a firearms license still has its advantages, though. A handgun license would allow the carrier to have reciprocity in other states that have enacted that kind of legislation. A license is also considered a valid form of ID when casting a ballot and grants expedited access into the Texas Capitol.
Where you (still) cannot carry
There are certain public places firearms are not allowed, even under constitutional carry, unless you are a licensed peace officer. Those include:
- Bars and other businesses that make 51% of their receipts from alcohol
- Sporting events and horse or dog races
- Polling places
- Jails and prisons
- Government buildings
- Federal property and national parks (that includes the San Antonio Missions and The Alamo)
- Private businesses or land in which the owner has signage posted outlawing weapons
STEP ONE - ONLINE LTC CLASS - We still recomend this class to teach you the laws
As a new offering for people who cannot afford to spend 5 or 6 consecutive hours in a classroom, we have partnered with the premier OnLine LTC course provider. You can take this 4 hour course On Line at your own pace. When you complete the online course you will receive your LTC101 form and you can schedule your private range time for the LTC shooting test. We will be glad to schedule your shooting test, or you can use any licensed LTC instructor for your testing.
NOTE: This class is fully approved by the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS)
Click below to register or learn more and see a sample of the online License to Carry course.
Click below for special pricing
STEP TWO - Shooting Test ONLY for online LTC students
When you have completed your online LTC Class and have your LTC101 form in hand, let us schedule your private basic range safety and proficiency test portion of the LTC process. Cost for the test is $40 plus range fee. You will need to bring your handgun and 50 rounds of ammunition along with eye and ear protection, and your LTC101 form. Please note that you need to be safe and proficient with a handgun before taking this test.
Let us know your preferred date and time.
Below is information about the Texas License to Carry (LTC) class (formerly called CHL)
What is the difference between CHL and LTC?
Starting January 1, 2016 Texas will allow registered license holders to open carry in public. Because the law no longer requires your firearms to be concealed, Texas changed the licensing name from CHL (Concealed Handgun License) to LTC (License to Carry). Current CHL holders are now licensed to carry in the open IN TEXAS. Please be sure to wear a retention holster.
I want to take a Texas LTC (License to Carry) class to learn to shoot better. Will that teach me to shoot?
The Texas LTC class is a very good class but it does not teach shooting. It teaches Texas law as relates to concealed carry. You need a basic knowledge of your handgun to qualify on the range, shooting center of mass a total of 50 rounds at a B27 target from 9 feet, 21 feet, and 45 feet.
If you want to learn to shoot, we recommend "Pistol 101" or the Basic Pistol Shooting class. You can click HERE to learn about our Pistol 101 Classes.
You wouldn't go for your drivers license without first learning how to drive. Don't go for your LTC without first learning how to shoot safely.
Can I take the License to Carry class online or do I need to spend all day in a classroom?
Texas now allows and has approved a couple of online LTC Classes. (be careful not all who claim they are approved by Texas are valid). We have partnered with the premier online class. After you complete the online class you can schedule your required shooting test. This is NEW to Texas this year (2018) and is a great solution.
What are the steps required to obtain a Texas License to Carry a Handgun (LTC)?
- Learn to shoot a handgun. You must be safe and proficient BEFORE your class.
- Apply online with the state of Texas (HERE is a link) and pay the $40 fee
- Schedule your fingerprints at the end of the application process ($10)
- Attend a Texas Approved LTC class (4 to 6 hours) in person or online (CLICK HERE) to register for the online class. Pass the written test
- Schedule your shooting test (CLICK HERE)
- Upload your signed LTC form to the state of Texas (HERE is a link)
- Wait..... 4 to 6 weeks and your license should appear in your mailbox
What does it cost to get a Texas LTC)?
Here are the approximate costs to obtain a Texas License to Carry
- Fee paid to Texas to process your application and background check $40.00
- Fingerprint fee paid to Identogo Services (the only Texas approved provider) $10.00
- Online LTC Class $50.00
- LTC Safety briefing and Shooting Test $40.00
- Range fee $15.00
- Ammunition (50 rounds currently about $35.00) If you already have ammunition GREAT !
- If you need to rent a gun it can cost $5.00 - $15.00
What type of class/training is required to obtain a Texas License to Carry a Handgun (LTC)?
An applicant may attend LTC classroom training and demonstrate handgun proficiency (shooting) with a Texas Qualified LTC Instructor, or
An applicant may receive LTC online training (classroom only) through an Approved Online Course Provider who has been approved in Texas. After, successfully passing the online classroom portion, an applicant must attend 1-2 hours of range instruction class and demonstrate handgun proficiency (shooting) with a Texas Qualified LTC Instructor.
What are the eligibility requirements to obtain a Texas LTC?
Texas Code § 411.172(a) A person is eligible for a license to carry a handgun if the person:
- is a legal resident of this state for the six-month period preceding the date of application,
- is at least 21 years of age, (military 18 - 21 years old now eligible - 2005 Texas CHL law change),
- has not been convicted of a felony,
- is not charged with the commission of a felony, Class A or Class B misdemeanor, or Disorderly Conduct,
- is not a fugitive from justice for a felony, Class A or Class B misdemeanor,
- is not a chemically dependent person,
- is not incapable of exercising sound judgment with respect to the proper use and storage of a handgun,
- has not, in the five years preceding the date of application, been convicted of a Class A or Class B misdemeanor or an offense under Disorderly Conduct, Section 42.01, Penal Code,
- is fully qualified under applicable federal and state law to purchase a handgun,
- has not been finally determined to be delinquent in the payment of a tax or other money collected by the comptroller,
- has not been finally determined to be delinquent in making a child support payment administered or collected by the attorney general,
- is not currently restricted under a court protective order subject to a restraining order affecting a spousal relationship,
- has not, in the 10 years preceding the date of application, been adjudicated as having engaged in delinquent conduct violating a penal law in the grade of felony
- has not made any material misrepresentation, or failed to disclose any material fact, in an application submitted pursuant to Section 411.174 or in a request for application submitted pursuant to Section 411.175.
Direct any questions about eligibility to the DPS web-site www.txdps.state.tx.us
Where can I find the Texas Laws for the Texas LTC Holder?
This link is the Texas code governing the license to carry holder and regulations.
What is the shooting test like for the Texas LTC Class?
To qualify for a Texas License to Carry the following range qualifications must be met. A Total of 50 rounds will be fired during the course of the qualification test. A score of 70%, or 175 points of a possible 250, is required to pass. The target used is a B-27 which is a human-shaped silhouette target measuring 45 by 24 inches. All shooting is from the ready position, which means the gun is already in your hands and aimed in. No holster shooting or shooting from concealed is required. Your handgun must be .22 caliber or larger.
Course of Fire:
3 yard line – 20 shots:
- 1 shot in 2 seconds, 5 times
- 2 shots in 3 seconds, 5 times
- 5 shots in 10 seconds, once
7 yard line – 20 shots:
- 5 shots in 10 seconds, once
- 1 shot in 3 seconds, 5 times
- 2 shots in 4 seconds, once
- 3 shots in 6 seconds, once
- 5 shots in 15 seconds, once
15 yard line – 10 shots:
- 2 shots in 6 seconds, once
- 3 shots in 9 seconds, once
- 5 shots in 15 seconds, once
A score of 70%, or 175 points of a possible 250, is required to pass. 5 Points for each shot within the 8 ring, 4 points for each shot within the 7 ring, 3 points for each shot within the colored silhouette, but outside the 7 ring, no points for shots outside the silhouette.
Schedule your Private LTC Class here
For those interested in privacy and discretion, we offer an instructor led private LTC class. This class is typically given to a couple or small family. We allow up to 4 people in the private class. We can teach this class at your home, office, or local gun range. This is a 6 hour class and includes your shooting test. Cost for this class is $500.
NEW OFFERING - ONLINE LTC CLASS
As a new offering for people who cannot afford to spend 6 consecutive hours in a classroom, we have partnered with the premier OnLine LTC course provider. You can take the course On Line at your own pace. When you complete the online course, you can schedule your private range time for the shooting test.
Click below to register or learn more and see a sample of the course.